My First Rig Build 1080 Ti GPUs

Hi Guys,

This is my first build (definitely not my last), I am starting with 2 1080Ti’s and then adding until I have 8 GPUs. The parts are listed in this link https://pcpartpicker.com/list/M4N3nn It says the rig will be around 636 Watts. I am getting a 750 Watt PSU so I am not sure if I should get two PSUs now or later.

Any advice is helpful. Thanks!

1 Like

If you are going to add up to 8 gpu’s, you will need 2 (2000w) or 3 (1600w) psu’s. The 750w psu you have will only run 1 1080ti and the system, it WILL NOT run two 1080ti’s. a 1080ti mining will draw around 400w each, even if you are going to underclock you still do not have enough power with the 750w.

To save yourself time and money, get the largest one you can afford, with a 1600w you can run 3 - 1080ti’s and the mobo and risers. You will need a 2nd 1600 psu to run 3 more, more than 3 and you exceed the efficiency of the psu. OR your 2nd can be a 2000w psu and you can run 4 1080ti’s

Oh wow I really did not consider mining’s increase of power consumption over gaming. I will get 2 1600w psu’s to start off with. Then I will add another 1600w psu once I get my 7th 1080ti. Thanks @CitricAcid , really appreciate it.

Yes you need more power supply for sure.

Er no offence citricacid - but if you are using 400w per card you are doing something really wrong!!

What kind of measurements have you done with 1080ti coz they are way higher what I get with mine.

I get the following per 1080ti:
124w @ 473sols
148w @ 598sols
176w @ 642sols
198w @ 685sols
224w @ 721sols
249w @ 734sols
286w @ 769sols

1 Like

Did you run into any problems overclocking the 1080 ti to mine 769 sols?

No not really I’ve tried all of the above using different power and clock settings and all seem stable. 769sol was at +200 core +650 mem and 120 power card at 70c - it’s good for speed but bad for efficiency as it uses a lot of extra watts to get those few extra sols.