Zcash: Privacy vs AML

Hey everyone,

I am relatively new to the crypto space, and I was hoping to understand this a little more in depth. Fungibility is clearly one of the most important aspects of any currency, and a bitcoin that is “white-washed” by the FBI being valued above another bitcoin presents a problem. That is where the privacy of Zcash presents significant value.

My question is, is there any way to prevent Zcash used on the black market from being laundered through exchanges? Someone could easily be validated through KYC while also using crypto on the black market. If the history of the coin can’t be tracked, like what Chainalysis does for Bitcoin, how can money laundering be prevented? If the SEC can’t prevent money laundering with Zcash, I don’t see why they wouldn’t eventually make the use of Zcash illegal in the United States.

Thank you in advance for your help!

I can’t speak to the KYC/AML laws, but I did want to comment on the privacy aspect.

Privacy is all about scope. If you trust a single governmental group to oversee the privacy of people with the pretense of enforcing laws, it becomes a single point of failure. If that government or group becomes corrupt the entire group is compromised, including the law-abiding individuals stuck in that system.

If you instead trust each user with their own privacy you then have many points of strength rather than a single point of failure. Sure, a few of them might try and break the law, and this could be difficult for those enforcing the laws to track down (inconvenience), but it’s much safer for the overall group who is following the rules and doing what is right. Further, without individual privacy, democracy and freedom in general starts to erode.

“Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely”

I believe that Zcash should prioritize transitioning to only using Z_Addrs (opaque) so that the use of them isn’t taboo. Otherwise there is the pretense of, “why do you need privacy”?