I'm a dev. What's still missing in the Zcash ecosystem?

Hi all,

I’m a mobile/blockchain engineer with many successful apps and some blockchain projects (did a GPU miner for zcash too).

I am wondering what else the zcash community would need to be built. Any ideas?
Any interesting business models built on top of zcash?

4 Likes

I think most people don’t know what kind of possibilities lay ahead with blockchain tech.

There isn’t a lot yet for merchants to take Zcash directly, especially with shielded payments (from/to a zaddr). Non-private transactions with taddr->taddr are pretty easy to hack up, as zcash taddrs are BIP32 compatible (with a different prefix), but even payment gateways and such with those are still thin on the ground.

2 Likes

As I see Zcash as a good long term candidate for investment assets, an hardware wallet will help expand the usage.

2 Likes

Several of the major bitcoin/altcoin hardware wallets just added zcash support, or have it in the works (I’m getting samples of some from China later today to add support for zcash another one of them myself).

2 Likes

+1 for merchant payment software for shielded addresses. The memo field option for sending private ZEC is currently an underutilized tool which could provide a huge benefit for sending a refund address or other potentially useful notes in a private way.

3 Likes

A fast & stable linux miner.
A client-side wallet like Ethereum’s MEW.
A GUI wallet which has an address book. (should be simple right?)
A mobile (iOS/Android) mining monitor app similar to the many which exist for Ethereum.

That’s just off the top of my head cause I’m a miner.

2 Likes

For a client-side wallet we would need to port zkSNARKs to JavaScript, which seems a bit of a pain given that they require fast execution and 3GB of memory, I heard. Maybe something like Chrome’s Native Client technology would help.