Bad news for Zcash?

I could make the same statement for many coins out there. Where are the facts? Which line of code does what?

Babbling some “tech tongue” doesn’t make your words true, you should backup your words with facts, and that kid has no facts in his post.

Babble bla bla.

1 Like

needs to prove there’s a backdoor. the fact he didn’t leads me to believe this is FUD. market shrugged it off because this stuff isn’t new from peter.
(also probably means there could be big news for zcash that peter just caught wind of, and didn’t like)

1 Like

I think he has a valid point actually.

not saying he’s wrong… i’m just a dumb trader.
imo, a responsible actor wouldn’t make claims like “backdoor” on twitter with no evidence.
should’ve said “rust implementation is garbage, and needs to be fixed”, or “here’s the backdoor”.
also should’ve been done privately. twitter posts are a trashy way to make accusations

I disagree: I always prefear to lean towards the side of extreme transparency than the opposite. If there are reasonable concerns about the trusted setup (and I think the concern he pints is reasonable), we all better know them sooner than later.

2 Likes

agree to disagree.
make a public claim of “backdoor”
you need proof, imo.

bitcoin “could” be backdoored too.

grand scheme of things it doesn’t matter. market seems to be shrugging-it-off. been around for too long, and’ve seen pete in action. to me, peter’s a bit of a sensationalist. i’ll go-back to ignoring peter like i’ve done for years.

1 Like

There are definitely valid points in the arguments regarding the deterministic builds though I don’t think this is the best way to publicise (i.e. throwing out things like the ceremony could be trivially backdoored, which is clearly just to garner attention).