AMD Hardware GPU Questions

I am creating this thread for all of the specific AMD GPU Questions, there have been a ton of “How much Sols/s can I get with my RX470?” Threads. So this will hopefully make information easier to find for all users.

Please consult this thread and feel for to add questions about AMD. Nvidia/CUDA has another thread.

The Sapphire RX 470 Nitro 4Gb seems to be using the new Samsung Memory, has anyone released a modded bios for this?

Does anyone know when the amd vega gpu will be out and approx cost? I’m feeling excited just thinking about them :grin:

Are there any good zcash bios mods foe the Sapphire nitro 480 8gig cards?

Thank you, that is epic. I will check out your 480 folder tomorrow.

I am quite new to Zcash.
Normally I mine ETH and I optimized RX 480 with polaris bios but I started with Hex coding. And I have notices that Equalhash need other settings to improve the hashrate.

Since I am quite new to hex scripting aswel and I could use a little bit of a help. What I want to do is gather some more information how Hex scripting exactly works and try to get the most out of the RX 480 Nitro card.

If you are willing to help and work in a small group you can contact me so we can start modding together :wink:

Atm I have 144Sol with Sapphire Nitro RX 480 8GB.

Currentry I am running 24 Rigs (123 Sapphire Nitro RX 480 8GB and 12x Stock XFX RX 480 8GB)
Motherboard: AsRock H81 Pro BTC
8Gb Ram
Intel Celeron 1840G
Kingston 128GB SSD

2 Likes

144 Sol/s is quite ok, for a stock rom.
Tweaking the memory straps improves the hashrate a little bit. But the most you get out of overclocking the core speed.

I have never done any hex modification on a rom.
So I am not sure about improvements there.

But check this topic.
Maybe this can help you.

A bit off-topic, but do you void warranty if you apply custom BIOS on your GPU?
Or if you mess memory timings?